Logo Università degli Studi di Milano



 
 

DOCTORAL SCHOOL IN PHILOSOPHY AND HUMAN SCIENCES  

Students talking

COURSEWORK REQUIREMENTS

Courses: 16 CFU and 3 papers

  • Students are required to obtain at least 16 CFU by attending courses within the end of the third semester (18 months after the enrolment at the PhD school) and write 3 different papers (between 5000 and 8000 words each) related to topics of three courses.
  • Each CFU corresponds to 5 hours of lectures or classwork.
  • Students are required to register well in advance (at least 2 weeks before) by sending an e-mail to the contact person specified in the program. Attendance to at least 80% of the total number of hours is compulsory.
  • In agreement with their tutors and with the approval of the PhD Board, students may obtain some of the required CFUs by attending courses offered by other doctoral schools, in particular by those with which our school has an informal agreement, namely the Northwestern Italian Philosophy Consortium (FINO, http://www.fino.unige.it), The Doctoral School in Philosophy of the Scuola Normale Superiore in Pisa (http://phd.sns.it/it/filosofia/) and the Doctoral School in Cognitive Neurosciences and Philosophy of Mind) of the Scuola Universitaria Superiore Pavia (http://old.iusspavia.it/index.php?id=32#.W73HlS_d8Wo). Funding for travel and subsistence may be provided, depending on the number of requests and on availability, by the doctoral school, subject to the approval of tutors and of the PhD Board. For this reason this kind of activity must be planned well in advance.
  • Some of these courses will be organized as cycles of seminars or reading groups.

Other activities

  • For all the 3 years of their PhD programme, students are expected to attend the most important talks, workshops or conferences organized by the doctoral school. Attendance to some of these, marked by the label PhD School will be compulsory for all the students. For others, individual attendance may be requested by tutors.

Teaching Activities A.Y. 2021/2022  

Teaching Activities Doctoral School in Philosophy and Human Sciences A.Y. 2021/2022 


The whole catalog will be also available on the website of the Università degli Studi...  

Dates and Timetable T.B.D.

 
English for philosophy and human sciences - Presenting: from Organization to Delivery - for academic communication (2 CFU)
Delivery Language: English
Organization: Miriam Bait (miriam.bait@unimi.it)

PIS - Performing Identities Seminar (2 CFU)
Delivery Language: Italian & English
Organization: Chiara Cappelletto (chiara.cappelletto@unimi.it)

Philosophy as a Method of Thinking Practices. Phenomenology, Hermeneutics and Post-Structuralism in the Light of Pragmatism (3 CFU)
Delivery Language: English
Organization: Rossella Fabbrichesi (rossella.fabbrichesi@unimi.it).

Why should we read the Classics of Political Philosophy? (4 CFU)
Delivery Language: Italian & English
Organization: Marco Geuna (marco.geuna@unimi.it) and Mauro Simonazzi (mauro.simonazzi@unimi.it)

Designing a research project in Philosophy: strategies and challenges (2 CFU)
Delivery Language: English
Organization: Andrea Pinotti (andrea.pinotti@unimi.it)

Perspectives in Feminist and Queer Philosophy. Identity and difference(4 CFU)
Delivery Language: Italian & English
Organization: Chiara Cappelletto (chiara.cappelletto@unimi.it) and Marco Geuna (marco.geuna@unimi.it

The Question of Technique (2 CFU)
Delivery Language: Italian
Organization:  Carmine Di Martino (carmine.dimartino@unimi.it)

Filmology and media-archaeology: approaches and methods (4 CFU)
Delivery Language: Italian
Organization:  Barbara Grespi (barbara.grespi@unimi.it)

Issues of Research Methodology in Humanities and Social Sciences (3 CFU)
Delivery Language: English
Organization: Giampietro Gobo (giampietro.gobo@unimi.it)

Philosophy in German: words, concepts, tools and methods (2 CFU)
Delivery Language: Italian
Organization:  Paola Bozzi (paola.bozzi@unimi.it)

Introduction to data science for the humanities (3 CFU)
Delivery Language: Italian
Organization:  Alfio Ferrara (alfio.ferrara@unimi.it)

Upcoming PhD School Appointments  

Back to top